As a Workspace Admin you can add Users, change User roles, allow other domains to have access to your Projects, and create shared assets via the Administration panel.
Guest: Guests can have projects shared with them, but are not able to create new projects, edit projects, or view all of the projects in your Workspace. The "Guest" profile is most useful for Workspaces that have a partner company (e.g., customer or contractor) that needs to be able to see - but not create - projects shared with them.
Member: Members are users in an Workspace who can login to Hex but cannot create or edit projects. They can only access Projects as Viewers or App Viewers.
Author: Authors are able to create and edit projects. These are the standard Users in Hex.
Admin: Admins have all the powers of Authors, but also have access to your Workspace's Administration panel.
You can define subsets of users as a group in the Groups sections of the Users & groups page. Add a group by clicking the + Group button, naming the group, and selecting users from the search bar at the bottom of the dialog. Individual users can appear in as many groups as desired.
You can allow anyone with an email address belong to a certain domain (e.g. hex.tech) to log into your Workspace with the default role. By default, any user with an allowed domain will be able to log in, so there's no need to manually create a user account for each person in your Workspace.
In most cases, you will want to set up the default role as "Member". Any Users who should not have the default role (e.g., Admins) need their roles set explicitly in the Users field.
Admins can create shared data connections that can be used by all users in their Workspace. The process to create connections is the same as detailed in Data connections.
Warning: If you delete a shared connection it will be deleted from all projects that use it. Deletion cannot be undone.
First, an Admin must connect a GitHub account to Hex. To do so, navigate to the Workspace assets tab and click the Connect button under the GitHub packages section. There may be additional set up steps to complete once a Github Admin approves the connection request if the Hex Admin is not also an Admin of the target Github organization.
In the GitHub authentication dialog, you can choose individual repositories that you want to connect to Hex or connect all repositories. After successful setup and authentication, you will be sent back to the Hex Administration panel.
If you need to disconnect the GitHub account on the Hex Admin page, you will also need to revoke access to the account in GitHub.
Once you've authenticated a GitHub account, you can select individual packages to install to your Workspace by clicking the + Package button.
You can install a specific branch, tag, or commit of a package. If you install a branch (e.g.
main), by default all projects will have access to the latest version of that branch. If you would prefer to pin the version of the package which is imported to Hex you should select either the tag or commit SHA of the desired version.
Package install instructions can be customized via the Install commands section of the Add a package dialog. If no optional commands are provided, by default the GitHub package is zipped and downloaded in its entirety.
If your GitHub package includes pip installable modules, you can specify how those packages are installed via a command similar to
pip install ./. The details of your repository structure and content will dictate the specific install commands required.
Once you have successfully added a repository and package to Hex, it will be available to all Workspace users. See Using packages for instructions on using GitHub packages in a project.
Hex includes two types of tags that can be used to organize and manage projects: Status and Category. By default, Hex includes 2 Categories and 5 Statuses, but admins are free to edit the defaults and add their own. Any edits to a category or status will automatically be reflected on all projects it is used on.
Once assigned to projects, categories and statuses can be used to filter the Projects page.
Deleting a status or category will remove it from all projects it is currently assigned to, and cannot be undone. You can re-create the category with the same name, but it will have to be manually re-assigned to projects.
- In Progress