Sharing and collaboration are core tenets of the Hex platform.
You can use the Share menu in the upper right of your projects to manage permissions for a project. A project can be shared with individuals, a group of users (defined in Users & groups), or widely with the web. For each, you can specify the permissions allowed to shared users.
Users can have several levels of access to a Hex project:
Full rights over a project, including renaming, deleting, and managing all other user permissions.
Can modify any part of the logic or app, and (if permitted) are able to add other Editor, Viewer, or App Users. They are unable to rename or delete the project.
When Owner or Editor permission is granted to a Hex user who is not an Administrator or Author, that user's permissions to the project will be automatically downgraded to Viewer.
Users can view any part of the project (including the logic), but are unable to modify or add new users.
Viewers can duplicate a project (excluding data connection credentials), and will be the Owner of the resulting new project.
Users in this tier can only view the published app and are unable to modify or add other users. They cannot duplicate a project.
Projects can be made available publicly by toggling on the Share to web option in the Share dialog. Anyone with the link to your project will be able to navigate to and interact with your project.
You have two options for the access permission for those with a link:
- App-only: Can only see published app
- Viewer: Can see Logic View and App Builder. Cannot edit or run project in Logic View.
Projects can be embedded in another website. Click the Embed button in the bottom right of the Share dialog to copy the embed code to your clipboard. You can now paste that code into your other webpage.
Permissions for embedded projects will have the exact same sharing permissions as the source project. For example:
- If anyone with the link should be able to view the embedded project then you'll need to toggle on the Share to web option in your project.
- If only a subset of users have permission to view the project then they are the only folks who'll be able to access it.